PDO

The PDO measures the luck factor of each team versus their overall performance (standings). A team with a PDO greater than 102 will be considered very lucky, a team with a PDO less than 98 will be considered unlucky while a team with a PDO around 100 will perform as we can judge to be "fair". Given that it is impossible to predict the number of power play that a team will have during a season (and by default their power play performance), only the full strength situations are considered for the PDO .

The following graph shows the relationship between the 2018-2019 performance of the teams and their PDO. The PDO axis crosses the point axis at 92.6 points, which is the average number of points, based on the past 5 years, that a team must have to make the final season playoffs. Also, the blue area indicates the teams for which luck played a less important role in their performance. These being with a PDO between 99 and 101. Let us now focus on the teams at the ends of the graph.

PDO - PRODUCTION INCREASE

Teams with a PDO below 98 were marked by extreme bad luck in 2018-2019, which for the most part was detrimental to their annual results. Fortunately for them, the luck factor fluctuates from year to year, even between the regular season and the playoffs for those who managed to qualify for it. For our analysis, we consider that teams with a PDO of less than 99 should have an increase in their production this year.

MINNESOTA WILD

(PDO : 98,4 – Points : 83)

The Wild won the prize for the least fortunate team of the year with its PDO of 98.4. When we look at the PDO average of their top five pointers in full strength, we get a PDO of 97.7, which is lower than the average for the entire team. With the exception of Jared Spurgeon, who is nearing average, they should all be luckier this year. Thereby, Wild's point should also increase.

FLORIDA PANTHERS

(PDO : 98,5 – Points : 86)

The Panthers had another difficult year, despite a threatening first line, without being the luckiest with their PDO of 98.5. The PDO average of their top 5 full strength scorers reaches 98.4, just slightly less than the team as a whole. Having little depth, the effect of the low PDO of the main players has a direct impact on the team's performance. With the exception of Aleksander Barkov, who is expected to maintain his performance, the others should be a little luckier and, by default, improve the performance of the Panthers.

BUFFALO SABRES

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 76)

The Sabres have shown some good signs of progress this year, but they would need a little more help to aspire to better results. Like the rest of the team, the PDO average of their top 5 tied scorers was 98.7. With the exception of Jeff Skinner, for whom the luck factor did not really play a role in his success, the others should see their production increase as well as the whole team.

NEW JERSEY DEVILS

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 72)

After having a superb year in 2017-2018, the aspirations for 2018-2019 were high. On the other hand, with a PDO of 98.7, we can confirm that luck was not with them. The PDO average of their top 5 full strength scorers was 97.8, less than the whole team. With the exception of Kyle Palmieri, which is expected to continue, the others are expected to see their production increase. If the PDO of the best players increases, the team performance will increase!

SAN JOSE SHARKS

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 101)

The Sharks' analysis is interesting because of their low PDO and the number of points accumulated during the year. They have an outstanding year and I don’t even dare think the number of points if they had been just a little luckier, would they have exceeded the Lightning mark? When we analyze their team PDO of 98.7 versus the PDO of their top 5 full strength scorers of 99.4, we can say that the most productive players were not affected by the luck factor. In short, the Sharks should improve their cumulative points this year.

COYOTES DE L’ARIZONA

(PDO : 98,8 – Points : 86)

 ARIZONA COYOTES

(PDO : 98,8 – Points : 86)

The Coyotes went short from a playoff run by 4 points , despite their 98.8 PDO. With a little bit of luck, the results could have been different. With the PDO of their top 5 full strength scorers of 98.8 being equal to the rest of the team, we presume the Coyotes should perform better with a bit more luck. They will do better this year than the last.

PDO - PRODUCTION DECREASE

Teams with a PDO greater than 102 get an extremely hight luck factor  in 2018-2019, which was beneficial for them in terms of point. Unfortunately for them, the luck factor fluctuates from year to year, even between the regular season and the end-of-season playoffs. For our analysis, we consider that the teams with a PDO of more than 101 should experience a production decrease this year.

WASHINGTON CAPITALS

(PDO : 102,2 – Points : 104)

The Caps is one of two teams to maintain the highest PDO of the past season. When we look a little further, we understand more easily what made them successful. If we look at the PDO average of their top five full strength pointers, we get a PDO of 102.5, which is very high. With the exception of Nicklas Backstrom, who is expected to maintain the pace with a PDO of 100.6, the other four are expected to have a production decrease. As a result, the Caps' point harvest should also decrease.

NEW-YORK ISLANDERS

(PDO : 102,2 – Points : 103)

The Surprising Islanders is the other team who benefit from the highest PDO of the season. While everyone thought they were good for last place in the league following the departure of John Tavares, they surprised the world of hockey ... but greatly benefited from their luck! The PDO average of their top 5 full strength scorers peaks at 102.9. With the exception of Mathew Barzal who should see his luck a little more on his side next year, the other four should see their production decrease and therefore, decrease the general performance of the team.

 

What happened in the playoffs? The Islanders regained a normal PDO of 99.6. In the first round, they eliminated the Pittsburgh Penguins who had a PDO of 92.3, meaning they were extremely unlucky (Our lowest metric for the season is a PDO of 96!). The Islanders took advantage of it, but in the second round, when they were eliminated by the Hurricanes (PDO of 101.1), they did not make the weight.

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING

(PDO : 102 – Points : 128)

The Lightning's dream season is certainly related to the raw talent of the team, but the 128 points are more so with their high PDO of 102. While everyone agreed on the power of this team, no one could predict as much victory. The PDO average of their top 5 full strength pointers was 102.6, which is very high. With the exception of Steven Stamkos who has maintained a normal PDO of 100.9, the other 4 main point producers of the team should see their production decrease. This will have a definite impact on the overall performance of the team, which will see its number of points decrease this year.

 

What happened in the playoffs? The Lightning experienced a complete turnaround from a 102 PDO to a low 96.7 PDO in the playoffs. Luck really turned their backs on them as they faced the Columbus Blue Jackets who maintained a neutral PDO of 99.3.

TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS

(PDO : 101,9 – Points : 100)

We were all excited to see what the Maple Leafs would do with the addition of John Tavares. This young team had a good point production and benefited from a favorable PDO to help them keep up the pace throughout the year. The PDO average of their top 5 full strength scorers was 102.2, which suggests that their performance will decline next year. With the exception of Auston Matthews, whose production is expected to increase, the other four are expected to experience the opposite. So the Maple Leafs will see their number of wins drop next year as their PDO get closer to normal.

 

What happened in  playoffs? The Maple Leafs maintained a PDO of 100.8 during the playoffs, which is normal. That's why their series against the Boston Bruins ended in seven games. The Bruins just got a little bit more luck with a PDO of 101.6.

PENGUINS DE PITTSBURGH

(PDO : 101,4 – Points : 100)

The Penguins have been an example of consistency for the past few years. When we analyze their team PDO of 101.4 versus the PDO of their 5 best full strength pointers  of 100.3, we can assume that the luck factor was predominant among support players much more than for them. (excepted of Crosby and Guentzel). That said, the Penguins should still see their overall points decrease next year, unless their star players loose their chance this year.

 

 

What happened in playoffs? The Penguins were the team with the lowest PDO in the series with a score of 92.3. For example, the team with the least luck in the regular season posted a PDO of 98.4 (Wild Minnesota). Nothing to add...luck was really not with them!

  • Noir Icône Instagram

©2019 by Hudon-Hockey. Proudly created with Wix.com

PDO

Le PDO mesure le facteur chance de chaque équipe versus leur performance générale au classement. Une équipe ayant un PDO supérieur à 102 sera considérée comme très chanceuse, une équipe avec un PDO inférieur à 98 sera considérée comme non chanceuse alors qu’une équipe ayant un PDO autour 100 présentera des performances que nous pouvons juger de « juste ». Compte tenu qu’il est impossible de prédire le nombre d’avantage numérique qu’une équipe bénéficiera lors d’une saison (et par défaut leur performance en avantage numérique), seules les périodes à 5 contre 5 sont considérées dans le calcul du PDO.

Le graphique suivant nous présente la relation entre la performance 2018-2019 des équipes et leur PDO. L’axe du PDO croise l’axe des points à 92,6 points, ce qui correspond au nombre moyen de points, en se basant sur les 5 dernières années, qu’une équipe doit avoir pour faire les séries de fin de saison. Également, la zone bleue indique les équipes pour lesquelles la chance a joué un rôle moins important dans leur performance. Celles-ci se trouvant avec un PDO entre 99 et 101. Attardons-nous maintenant aux équipes aux extrémités du graphique.

PDO - AUGMENTATION DE PRODUCTION

Les équipes affichant un PDO inférieur à 98 ont été marqués par une malchance extrême en 2018-2019, ce qui, pour la plupart a été néfaste pour leur résultat annuel. Heureusement pour eux, le facteur chance fluctue d’une année à l’autre, voir même entre la saison régulière et les séries de fin de saison pour ceux qui ont réussi à se qualifier à la grande messe de fin d’année malgré tout. Pour notre analyse, nous considérons que les équipes ayant un PDO de moins de 99 devraient vivre une augmentation de leur production cette année.

WILD DU MINNESOTA

(PDO : 98,4 – Points : 83)

Le Wild a gagné le prix de l’équipe la moins chanceuse de l’année avec son PDO de 98,4. Lorsque nous regardons la moyenne du PDO de leurs cinq meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique, nous obtenons un PDO de 97,7, ce qui est plus faible que la moyenne de l’équipe complète. À l’exception de Jared Spurgeon qui frôle la moyenne, ils devraient tous bénéficier de plus de chance cette année. Par le fait même, la récolte de points du Wild devrait également augmenter.

PANTHERS DE LA FLORIDE

(PDO : 98,5 – Points : 86)

Les Panthers ont eu une autre année difficile, malgré un premier trio menaçant, sans être des plus chanceux avec leur PDO de 98,5. La moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique atteint 98,4, soit à peine un peu moins que l’ensemble de l’équipe. Ayant peu de profondeur, l’effet du faible PDO des principaux joueurs a un impact direct sur le rendement de l’équipe. À l’exception de Aleksander Barkov qui devrait maintenir son rendement, les autres devraient avoir un peu plus de chance et par défaut améliorer la performance des Panthers.

SABRES DE BUFFALO

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 76)

Les Sabres ont montré de beaux signes de progression cette année, mais ils auraient eu besoin d’un peu plus d’aide pour aspirer à de meilleurs résultats. Tout comme l’ensemble de l’équipe, la moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique a été de 98,7. À l’exception de Jeff Skinner pour qui le facteur chance n’a pas réellement joué un rôle dans son succès, les autres devraient voir leur production augmenter tout comme l’ensemble de l’équipe.

DEVILS DE NEW JERSEY

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 72)

Après avoir eu une superbe année en 2017-2018, les aspirations pour 2018-2019 étaient élevées. Par contre, avec un PDO de 98,7, nous pouvons confirmer que la chance n’était pas avec eux. La moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique a été de 97,8, soit moins que l’ensemble de l’équipe. À l’exception de Kyle Palmieri qui devrait se maintenir, les autres devraient voir leur production augmenter. Si le PDO des meilleurs augmente, le rendement de l’équipe augmentera !

SHARKS DE SAN JOSE

(PDO : 98,7 – Points : 101)

L’analyse des Sharks est intéressante de par leur faible PDO et le nombre de points accumulés durant l’année. Ils ont une année hors pairs et je n’ose même pas penser le nombre de points s’ils avaient eu simplement un peu de plus de chance, auraient-ils dépassé la marque du Lightning ?  Lorsque nous analysons leur PDO d’équipe de 98,7 versus le PDO de leurs 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique se chiffrant à 99,4, nous pouvons dire que les joueurs les plus productifs n’ont pas été affectés par le facteur chance. Bref, les Sharks devraient améliorer leur cumul de points cette année.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Les Sharks ont maintenu un PDO de 99,1 durant les séries alors qu’ils ont affronté des équipes ayant des PDO entre 100 et 101. Tout comme durant la saison, nous pouvons nous demander jusqu’où ils se seraient rendus s’ils avaient eu un peu plus de chance.

COYOTES DE L’ARIZONA

(PDO : 98,8 – Points : 86)

COYOTES DE L'ARIZONA

(PDO : 98,8 – Points : 86)

Les Coyotes sont passés à 4 points d’une participation aux séries de fin d’année, malgré leur PDO de 98,8. Avec un peu de chance, les résultats auraient pu être différents. Le PDO de leurs 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique de 98,8 étant égal à l’ensemble de l’équipe, nous présumons que les Coyotes devraient mieux performer avec un peu plus de chance. Ils feront mieux cette année que la dernière.

PDO - DIMINUTION DE PRODUCTION

Les équipes affichant un PDO supérieur à 102 ont bénéficié du facteur chance de façon extrême en 2018-2019, ce qui a été bénéfique pour eux au niveau de leur récolte de points. Malheureusement pour eux, le facteur chance fluctue d’une année à l’autre, voir même entre la saison régulière et les séries de fin de saison. Pour notre analyse, nous considérons que les équipes ayant un PDO de plus de 101 devraient vivre une diminution de leur production cette année.

CAPITALS DE WASHINGTON

(PDO : 102,2 – Points : 104)

Les Caps est l’une des 2 équipes ayant maintenu le plus haut PDO de la dernière saison. Lorsque nous regardons un peu plus loin, nous comprenons plus facilement ce qui leur a permis d’obtenir leur succès. Si nous regardons la moyenne du PDO de leurs cinq meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique, nous obtenons un PDO de 102,5, ce qui est très élevé. À l’exception de Nicklas Backstrom qui devrait maintenir le rythme avec un PDO de 100,6, les quatre autres devraient voir leur production diminuer. Par le fait même, la récolte de points des Caps devrait également diminuer.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Les Caps sont revenus à un PDO normal avec une mesure de 100,6 alors que les Hurricanes ont vu leur PDO augmenter de 99,2 en saison à 101,1 en séries. Ces derniers ont donc bénéficier davantage de chance, ce qui a certainement aidé à leurs succès et l’élimination rapide des Caps.

ISLANDERS DE NEW-YORK

(PDO : 102,2 – Points : 103)

Les surprenants Islanders est l’autre équipe ayant bénéficié du plus haut PDO de la saison. Alors que tous les croyaient bons pour le dernier rang au classement général suite au départ de John Tavares, ils ont surpris le monde du hockey…mais ont grandement profité de leur chance ! La moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique atteint un sommet de 102,9. À l’exception de Mathew Barzal qui devrait voir la chance être un peu plus de son côté l’an prochain, les quatre autres devraient voir leur production diminuer et donc, faire diminuer la performance générale de l’équipe.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Les Islanders ont retrouvé un PDO normal de 99,6. En première ronde, ils ont éliminé les Pingouins de Pittsburgh qui ont présenté un PDO de 92,3, signifiant que ces derniers ont été extrêmement malchanceux (Notre métrique la plus basse pour la saison est d’un PDO de 96 !). Les Islanders en ont profité, mais en deuxième ronde, alors qu’ils ont été éliminés par les Hurricanes (PDO de 101,1), ils n’ont pas fait le poids.

LIGHTNING DE TAMPA BAY

(PDO : 102 – Points : 128)

La saison de rêve du Lightning est certainement reliée au talent brut de l’équipe, mais les 128 points le sont davantage avec leur PDO élevé de 102. Alors que tous s’entendaient sur la puissance de cette équipe, personne ne pouvait présager autant de victoire. La moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique a été de 102,6, ce qui est très élevé. À l’exception de Steven Stamkos qui a maintenu un PDO normal de 100,9, les 4 autres principaux producteurs de points de l’équipe devraient voir diminuer leur production. Ce qui aura un impact certain sur la performance globale de l’équipe qui verra son nombre de points diminuer cette année.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Le Lightning a vécu un revirement total de la situation en passant d’un PDO de 102 à un faible PDO de 96,7 en séries. La chance leur a vraiment tourné le dos alors qu’ils affrontaient les Blue Jackets de Columbus qui ont maintenu un PDO neutre de 99,3.

MAPLE LEAFS DE TORONTO

(PDO : 101,9 – Points : 100)

Nous avions tous hâte de voir ce que feraient les Maple Leafs avec l’ajout de John Tavares. Cette jeune équipe a récolté une belle production de points et a profité d’un PDO favorable pour les aider à maintenir le rythme tout au long de l’année. La moyenne du PDO de leur 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique a été de 102,2 ce qui porte à croire que leur performance diminuera l’an prochain. À l’exception de Auston Matthews qui devrait voir sa production augmenter, les quatre autres devraient vivre la situation inverse. Donc, les Maple Leafs verra son nombre de victoire diminuer l’an prochain en voyant leur PDO se rapprocher de la normale.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Les Maple Leafs ont maintenu un PDO de 100,8 durant les séries, ce qui est dans la normale. Ce n’est pas pour rien que leur série contre les Bruins de Boston s’est terminé en sept parties. Les Bruins pour leur part ont simplement profité d’un peu plus de chance avec un PDO de 101,6.

PENGUINS DE PITTSBURGH

(PDO : 101,4 – Points : 100)

Les Penguins sont un exemple de constance depuis les dernières années. Lorsque nous analysons leur PDO d’équipe de 101,4 versus le PDO de leurs 5 meilleurs pointeurs en égalité numérique se chiffrant à 100,3, nous pouvons présumer que le facteur chance a été prédominant auprès des joueurs de soutien beaucoup plus que pour les joueurs de pointes (À l’exception de Crosby et Guentzel). Ceci dit, les Pingouins devraient tout de même voir leur nombre de points globaux diminuer l’an prochain, à moins que leurs joueurs vedettes attirent la chance d’avantage cette année.


Que s’est-il passé en séries de fin de saison ? Les Penguins ont été l’équipe présentant le PDO le plus faible des séries avec un score de 92,3. À titre d’exemple, l’équipe ayant le moins bénéficié de la chance en saison régulière a affiché un PDO de 98,4 (Wild Minnesota)..Rien à rajouter que la chance n’était vraiment pas avec eux !

  • Noir Icône Instagram

©2019 by Hudon-Hockey. Proudly created with Wix.com